Narrative Collage (Draft)

Currently in my COM 210 class, we are working on a Narrative Collage. Essentially, this is groups of photos put together in a fashion where it tells a particular story. As some of you may have seen on my previous blog post, I’ve compiled some photos that mean a lot to me. Above is my draft that I am working on for my Narrative Graphic Collage. I do not want to clutter the collage up too much that the story gets lost. I plan to include photos of my city, my interests, my hobbies, my school and my family and friends.

I like using as many photos of my own as possible because I do pride myself on the challenges of taking the best photos I can, using my camera phone. All the photos are mine, except for the blue angel (Adobe stock) and Mt. Rainier (Flickr). I try not to filter my photos too much because of that reason, however for the purpose of this class I plan to use some of the adjustment layer tools as needed. I also plan to use the skills that I have learn from our Photoshop tutorial assignment, along with a few tips that I picked up on my own. I like to use selection tool, content aware tool as well Gestalts’ Theory to blend my layers into one picture to tell my story.

My Collage is centered around my family and friends because they are very important to me. Whether it may be your immediate family or family of friends- I believe that we all need some sort of pillars of support in our lives. Princess Diana once quoted, “Family is the most important thing in the world”. (I haven’t decided whether I should use that quote or not). Although some people may object, I believe these are very few words sums up an endless amount of truth for me.

In my case, my family and close friends have always been there for me through ups and downs. As you journey through life, you may meet many different people you call friends. However it’s the ones that stick with you throughout the good times and the bad times, whom are the true friends. There aren’t enough words for me to articulate this endless love for the people around me and the environment that makes me who I am. So, if “a picture is worth a thousand words”, then I hope my collage will tell my story.

This assignment, by far, is my favorite because it means a lot to me. Please feel free to leave a comment to tell me what you think. I am open to any tips or suggestion that you may have to enhance my collage.  Thank you for visiting and I hope you come back to see the finish product next week 9/15/15.

7 thoughts on “Narrative Collage (Draft)

  1. lolakaye198 says:

    Joe,
    I really like your graphic collage. The colors are all well used and represent the Northwest well. The layers seem almost seamless and I really like the way you have yourself looking up at the large group picture. I am having a tough time critiquing anyone really because I am nowhere near proficient at this point. However I feel like some kind of words somewhere would be beneficial to tell more of the idea you are putting out there. Hope this helps!
    SW

    Liked by 1 person

  2. joesingkeo says:

    Self –Critic
    I am fairly happy about where I am with my draft but I still have quite a bit of work to be done in order to convey my message properly. First off, I need to pick a quote. I am leaning towards the Princess Diana quote, “Family is the most important thing in the world”. I think it’s simple, yet it captions my collage and conveys my message appropriately. I tried to focus the strength of this piece to shows solid unity. I think unity is important not only for Gestalts theory but also because unity is a characteristics of strong families.

    I will try to refine and blend my edges even better to showcase my blending skills; this is bugging me because I am perfectionist when it comes to these types of things. I’ve spent countless late night hours trying to figure out new tips from different sites. There is so much that I still have a lot to learn from Photoshop. I’ve used the refine tool and still I am not 100% happy with it. I want it to be flawless, however I know that perfection is subjective. Kind of like my family; they may not be perfect to everyone else but they are perfect for me.

    Last but not least, I also would like to include something about WSU, as this school is a big part of my life now. For the next two years, I will practically building a new extended family with my classmates, some who can potentially become great life-long friends.

    Although it was very frustrating and time consuming, I really enjoyed working on this assignment. I can see myself using these skills and tools in my near future. But for now, I look forward to sharing what I’ve learn by bringing out my idea onto my digital canvas. I’m open to any suggestions and tips, you might have, to help make this as best it can be? Thank you for visiting and don’t forget to like and follow.

    Like

  3. Peggy says:

    The first thing I thought upon seeing your draft collage was that people are important to you, outdoors makes you happy, and you have pride for Seattle/PNW. I liked the watermark of WSU in the corner of the water. I thought it was subtle and like a little hidden element. I liked it.
    The cohesiveness of the story was a little hard to understand because there was so many things to look at. At first glance, I thought SeaHawk pride immediately. Your blog post explained the family and friends element very well, but I would like to know which one you are in the big photo of friends and family. Your blog post also made me critique my own project, and the fact that you captured an honest subject of family and friends for your blog. I learned from this, and now feel I need to change my own to be a more honest portrayal.
    Your blending techniques were really good and I think you did follow the Gestalt theory. The layering was excellent and interesting, and I thought the technique you used made it look like an actual collage. I just got a little lost in the trees. I wanted to look at the scenery, which drew my eye immediately. Great writing. I enjoyed your post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joesingkeo says:

      Peggy, thank you for you compliments as well as input. I will consider it. I think it is too busy. I would like to use Gestalts’ theory of continuation to drive it away from the clutter. Please like and follow.

      Like

  4. lindyreich says:

    I was really impressed with your blending of the mountain into the sky. It wasn’t until I read that you added it that I realized the mountain wasn’t visible there. The blending of the Seattle sky line to the water is also very good. I feel as though the top of the Cougar head gets lost in the shadow of the hill and it would stand out better if it was a little smaller. My other issue is of how unnatural the picture of the group of people feels. All of your other layerings almost look like it could have actually been a photograph. The only thing I can think of is if you tried it where you make the people smaller and more opaque so they look like a reflection on the water similar to the Cougar head. I love the Princess Diana quote you talked about, just make sure you aren’t cluttering the collage. Sometimes less is more and make sure to use a good and objective editing eye. Great job and I can’t wait to see the final!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. joesingkeo says:

      Hi Lindy,
      Thank you for your kind words of observation. I spent way too much time on this only to be so far. Nonetheless, I am learning new things about Photoshop everyday. I am considering making the people smaller, however I do want to change the opacity so much that they dissolve in the water. The people in the photo are my family members and I want them to be noticeable because they inspire me not only for this piece but in life. I appreciate the comments and I think I may go for the Princess Diana quote as it sums up my thoughts. Thank you for visiting my blog. I hope you like and follow my page as well as come back to see the finish product.

      Like

Leave a Reply

