Everett Community College Lock-Down Oct. 15, 2015 (Final Cut)

For my final audio story project, I decided to do a news style prelude. Due to two-minute time limitation, I could not do a whole story as intended without leaving out crucial information. I think a prelude to a main news story is best fitting. I understand that part of this assignment is to learn how to captivate your audience and keep their attention. As a student at the Edward R. Murrow College of Communication at WSU, I was inspired by Mr. Murrow’s’ audio coverage of the “London Blitz.” Although, I can never be as good as the legend, himself, but I can always aspire. Here is my final audio assignment:

CC photo credit: Atomic Hot Links on Flickr

First off, I wanted a news jingle as an intro and outro to my story. So I went on to a creative content site, freesound.org, and found one that I felt suited. It was titled, “news jingle long,” by uploader, Mansardian. The part of the jingle that I liked was a bit short. Using the time selection tool, I highlighted the intro that I wanted and copied and paste it, so that it would play over for two minutes. Using key frames, I faded the jingle down and into my narrative and back up and out for the ending. In my draft the jingle ended with a thematic musical conclusion. But now that my audio is a prelude to lead people to a main story, I decided not to conclude the music but leave it suspenseful. I used the same music bed throughout the two minutes and faded it in and out. Now that I had my beginning and end, it was time to work on my narrative and body of the story.

My original raw audio was over 10 minutes after the intro and outro. I cut that down to about six minutes for my draft by using the razor tool to slice and dice the tape in segments. This also allowed me to take out any unnecessary “uhs”, “umms” and dead silence. I later paste the important parts together and reanalyze what I had. However it was still too long. I then used the time selection tool to further highlight and delete parts that I felt could the piece could do without. I still was left with six minutes of audio when I need to be at two minutes.

The toughest part was to realize that I had to leave out my two interviews of students that were at the scene with me. Although this part carried a lot of weight of the story, I will save this for a future story. This leaves me with the gist of the story. I’m hoping this will captivate my audience to tune it at a later time for the whole story.  After removing the interview, I pieced all the loose parts together.

Last but not least, I wanted to find a feature photo for my WordPress and a background for my Sound Cloud embedding. I found a photo of the EvCC campus from Linkedin that I wanted to use as a feature photo. I then got permission of use from the EvCC’s PR person, Katherine Schiffner. For the Sound Cloud background, I found a generic police lock-down (not the actual scene) on the creative common site, Flickr.

Finally, for my narrative, I decided to pick and choose my words carefully without using too many words to best describe what was going on that day but not spoiling the story. The more words that I used equals more time that I don’t have. I had a blank canvas to paint a picture for my audience using my words, which I thought I used fairly well.

Although, I had to cut out most of my work due to time constraints, I feel pretty good about my final cut. What do you think? Please post your comments below. To get the latest from Joe Singkeo, don’t forget to hit the Like button and follow my blog. Thank you for visiting. Hope to see you soon.

Featured photo credit: Jenny Marin, Everett CC

Leave a Reply

